GOLDEN GIRL: Banyana's Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana. Photo: STR/EPA

On a huge night for South African women’s football, Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana was the biggest winner at the Confederation of African Football (Caf) Awards on Tuesday.

The pint-sized Banyana Banyana striker did the double in Dakar, Senegal, winning the CAF Women’s Player of the Year award and the Goal of the Year prize.

She wasn’t the only South African to shine on the night as Banyana boss lady Desiree Ellis was named Women’s Coach of the Year. 

The pair has had a stellar year and played massive roles as Banyana reached the final of the African Women’s Cup of Nations (Awcon) and qualified for the World Cup for the first time in the nation’s history. 

Cape-born Kgatlana was recognised for her spectacular volleyed winner against Nigeria in the Awcon opener in November.

And the 22-year-old was named the player of the tournament and finished top scorer in Ghana as SA finished runners-up to Nigeria under the guidance of former team captain Ellis.

But the duo won’t be resting on their laurels and will be back in training as they start their preparations for France 2019 in June and July. 

Ellis and her squad got back to work on Wednesday for the inaugural Winnie Mandela Challenge later this month. 

The 26-player squad will be based in Cape Town where they will face the Netherlands and Sweden on January 19 and January 22 respectively at the Cape Town Stadium. Matches kick off at 3 pm and 7 pm respectively.

Banyana will be in Group B at the World Cup, with Germany, Spain and China.

CAF Awards 2018 winners

View this post on Instagram

The wait is over, stay tuned #AiteoCAFAwards2018

A post shared by CAF (@caf_online) on

Player of the Year: Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year: Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

Youth Player of the Year: Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

Men’s Coach of the Year: Herve Renard (Morocco)

Women’s Coach of the Year: Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Men’s National Team of the Year: Mauritania

Women’s National Team of the Year: Nigeria

Goal of the Year: Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

Banyana Squad

Goalkeepers: Andile Dlamini, Kaylin Swart, Roxanne Barker, Victoria Muroa.

Defenders: Lebogang Ramalepe, Nothando Vilakazi, Janine van Wyk, Noko Matlou, Bambanani Mbane, Tiisetso Makhubela, Koketso Tlailane, Karabo Dhlamini.

Midfielders: Mamello Makhabane, Leandra Smeda, Mpumi Nyandeni, Linda Motlhalo, Busisiwe Ndimeni, Refiloe Jane, Molatelo Sebata, Kholosa Biyana, Hildah Magaia.

[email protected]