NO GAME: Philander

It was announced yesterday that Big Vern, who plays for English county Sussex, suffered a groin injury that will rule him out for two to three weeks.

Steyn, meanwhile, has been included in the SA 'A' team that will tour England and has not been included in the squad for the Champions Trophy.

The big surprise when the Proteas named their squad yesterday was the inclusion of spin bowler Keshav Maharaj.

The only uncapped ODI player in the squad, Maharaj will be the second spinner in the SA team, with top star Imran Tahir being the other.

South Africa won the first ever ICC Champions Trophy back in 1998, but has since failed to won another ICC event, but that hasn’t prevented the selectors from keeping faith in their “new” stars.

With Philander and Steyn out, Morne Morkel is the experienced fast bowler in the squad, with Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada and Dwaine Pretorius being the other seamers.