This after the local T20 Global League was launched in London yesterday.

With eight teams in the tournament, the Mother City has two - one, that is yet to be named, will be based in Stellenbosch, while the other has already received its identity: Cape Town Knight Riders.

Proteas star JP Duminy will be the headline act in the team owned by Bollywod icon Shah Rukh Khan, who also owns Indian Premier League team the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Proteas legend Jacques Kallis, who coaches the Kolkata team, will mentor the Cape side.

With Newlands playing host to the team, Western Province Cricket Association CEO Nabeal Dien says: “I am extremely excited that the KKR team under the astute leadership of one of the world’s all-time greats who played his cricket under the shadows of the oaks, Jacques Kallis, will call Newlands home during the League.

The local marquee players assigned to the eight franchise teams are Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Kagiso Rabada and Imran Tahir.

The international marquee players are Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Lasith Malinga, Brendon McCullum, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Kieron Pollard and Jason Roy.