The Proteas plan to fight fire with fire when they take on Sri Lanka in the second ODI at SuperSport Park (1pm, on Wednesday).

Sri Lanka epitomises the new “go hard” approach that is becoming the norm for batting teams in the 50-over format.

Opener Niroshan Dickwella knows just one way, Oshada Fernando showed he wasn’t afraid to take on Kagiso Rabada and Lungi Ngidi and bliksemed them 10 rows back over long-on, while Kusal Perera has already left his mark on this tour. 

To combat that approach, the Proteas are employing a high-powered pace attack backed up by the attacking leg-spin of Imran Tahir.

Sri Lanka were coasting along at six an over at the Wanderers on Sunday with Fernando happily belting the quicks until Faf du Plessis turned to Tahir, whose 3/26  changed the game.

Lungi Ngidi can’t fault the bowling attack. 

“Even though they were going at a run rate of six an over, they were losing wickets on a regular basis. We weren’t on the ball but we also weren’t far off it,” says the paceman.

Should South Africa make changes to the starting team, that attacking philosophy with the ball will remain.

Proteas ODI Squad:

South Africa: Faf du Plessis  (capt), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Rassie van der Dussen.

[email protected]