Kraaifontein-born Wayde van Niekerk

CAPE stars are set to shine at the Rio de Janeiro Olympics for Team South Africa, which was named yesterday.

They will be representing the nation across various codes - Wayne van Niekerk on the athletics track, Ruswahl Samaai on the field, Cheslin Kolbe for the rugby Sevens and Jody February for the soccer team.

Kraaifontein-born sprint star Van Niekerk is world champion in the 400m and has the fastest time of the year ahead of Rio, while other spoedvraat Henricho Bruintjies is also on the team.

Antonio Alkana, the African 110m hurdles champ, also hails from the Cape.

Long jump ace Ruswahl Bruintjies is uit die Boland and Banyana winger Leandra Smeda is from Velddrif.

In the Blitzbokke team that will represent SA in the inaugural rugby Sevens tournament, seven of the 14 are travelling from Cape to Rio.

They are Cheslin Kolbe, Juan de Jongh, Justin Geduld, Kyle Brown, Dylan Sage, Chris Dry and Francois Hougaard.

Three Ajax CT players are in the U23 squad - Jody February, Tashreeq Morris and Rivaldo Coetzee - as well as former stars Keegan Dolly and Abbubaker Mobara.