‘Vote for SA heroes’



October 20, 2016
‘Vote for SA heroes’

GOLDEN BOY: Rio and world champion Wayde van Niekerk

Sports Minister calls on mense to vote for their favourite athletes.

Sports  Minister Fikile Mbalula has called on South Africa to vote for our IAAF Athlete of the Year nominees.

Olympic champions Wayde van Niekerk and Caster Semenya have dominated their events in the last year.

And Van Niekerk set a new world
record in the 400m final in Rio.

Now Razmatazz says: “Both athletes affirmed us as a nation of champions. It is with pride and excitement to learn of their nominations.

“These prestigious awards present yet another platform to inspire more young athletes to represent our country with excellence.”

Mbalula called on South Africans to use the IAAF social media platforms and website to vote for Semenya and Van Niekerk as the public’s votes are part of the final count.

Vote at https://www.facebook.com/WorldAthleticsClub before November 1.

The awards gala will be on December 1.

Read more Highlights