Usual suspects up for award



October 25, 2016
Usual suspects up for award

EYES ON THE PRIZE: Lionel Messi won it last year

Premier League-winning duo Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy also made the list.

The usual suspects are up for the Ballon d’Or this season.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano
Ronaldo have swapped the award between themselves since 2008 with the Argentina superstar
winning five times since 2009.

Ronaldo, though, can boast a European Championships medal and a Champions League title this year. But the duo will have to watch their backs with Golden Boot winner Luis Suarez looking to make it a double.

Suarez and Messi’s Barcelona teammate Neymar, who along with winning La Liga, also led Brazil to Olympic gold in Rio, is also in with a shout.

Gabon and Borussia Dortmund striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is the only African on the 30-man shortlist.

Fairytale Premier League-winning duo Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy also made the list.

Euro 2016’s best player Dimitri Payet was also nominated and even £100m Manchester United flop Paul Pogba.

Ballon d’Or Shortlist

Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund), Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Diego Godin (Atlético Madrid), Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid), Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli/Juventus), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (PSG/Manchester United) Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Neymar (Barcelona), Dimitri Payet (West Ham United), Pepe (Real Madrid), Paul Pogba (Juventus/Manchester United), Rui Patricio (Sporting Portugal), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Luis Suarez (Barcelona), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich).

Read more Soccer