Unlucky Boks in the mix



May 30, 2016
Unlucky Boks in the mix

MISS: JC Janse van Rensburg. CREDIT: Sourced

Allister Coetzee named a new-look 31-man Springbok squad, including nine uncapped players and 13 players of colour for the incoming series against Ireland.

Coetzee did not name a team captain and said he wanted to work with the squad before making a decision in the week of the first Test – June 11.

Toetie says: “We have a number of captaincy candidates to consider and I will announce the name of the captain when we name the team to face Ireland.”

Several players were not available for selection for the Springbok or SA ‘A’ squads because of injury or Springbok Sevens commitments.

They are JC Janse van Rensburg, Sti Sithole, Marcell Coetzee, CJ Velleman, Chris Cloete, Schalk Burger, Thembelani Bholi, Cobus Reinach, Jano Vermaak, Elgar Watts, Robert du Preez, Kurt Coleman, Handre Pollard, Harold Vorster, Cornal Hendricks, Andries Coetzee, Dillyn Leyds, Jaco van der Walt (all injuries or illness).

Meanwhile, Francois Hougaard, Bryan Habana, Juan de Jongh, Seabelo Senatla, Cheslin Kolbe, Warrick Gelant and Siviwe Soyizwapi are all earmarked for the Olympics with Springbok Sevens.

Read more Cricket