New list of designated firework spots



October 25, 2016
New list of designated firework spots

BANNED: Muizenberg is off limits for Guy Fawkes

Public discouraged from lighting fireworks in unsupervised areas.

You can no longer bas klappertjies on Sunrise Beach in Muizenberg.

But on the bright side, there are now more places where you can legally light fireworks over the upcoming holiday season.

The City of Cape Town has approved 12 sites — up four from last year — for the discharge of fireworks during Guy Fawkes, Diwali, and New Year’s Eve this year.

Mayoral committee member for safety and security JP Smith said this was to discourage mense from lighting fireworks in unsupervised areas.

However, two popular sites have been taken off the list, including Muizenberg.

“A number of additional sites were proposed by ward councillors, but these did not meet the safety criteria and so we had to reject them. We have also removed Theo Marais Park in Milnerton from the list of sites following objections from the public,” Smith said.

“Sunrise Beach has also been removed, in part due to the traffic congestion.”

The list was approved after consultation between emergency services, law enforcement, and the various subcouncils.

They are:

  • Tourism Centre, Table View beachfront
  • Wesfleur sports field, Atlantis
  • Bishop Lavis sports field
  • Metropolitan sports grounds, Bonteheuwel
  • Delft Central sports grounds
  • Swartklip sports complex, Mitchells Plain
  • Athlone Stadium parking area
  • Maiden’s Cove parking area, Camps Bay
  • Strandfontein Pavilion
  • Sarepta sports complex
  • Blue Downs sports field
  • Macassar Beach parking area.

Smith said these areas would be patrolled by authorities.

Children under 16 are not allowed to burst klappertjies and 11pm was the cut-off time on both Guy Fawkes and Diwali.

Read more Multimedia