Lock and roll



October 25, 2016
Lock and roll

TOP AWARD: Pieter-Steph du Toit (Bok)

Du Toit is named SA Rugby Player of the Year.

Stormers lock Pieter-Steph du Toit was the big winner at the South African Rugby Union’s award ceremony last night.

Du Toit won the SA Rugby Player of the Year award, taking over from fellow lock Lood de Jager, who won the award last year.

The 24-year-old beat his Cape lock partner Eben Etzebeth, and Lions trio Ruan Combrinck, Jaco Kriel and Warren Whiteley to the award.

Lions hooker Malcolm Marx won the Young Player of the Year award, while teammate Elton Jantjies walked away as the Super Rugby Player of the Year.

Their coach Johan Ackermann won Coach of the Year, while the Lions’ Super Rugby team won the Team of the Year award.

The Players’ Player of the Year, meanwhile, went to Sharks star Jean-Luc du Preez, with the Free State Cheetahs’ Ox Nche winning the Currie Cup Player of the Year award.

interim Saru president Mark Alexander said: “Many of the players who won awards this year will thrill us for many years to come.”

Read more Rugby